Thunderhead Engineering Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum moved to https://forum.thunderheadeng.com

Author Topic: Fire Suppression of Burner with specified HRRPUA  (Read 265 times)

Stefan Löffel

• View Profile
Fire Suppression of Burner with specified HRRPUA
« on: July 23, 2019, 04:02:35 am »

Hello everyone

I am new to FDS/PyroSim modelling and I am attempting to model fire suppression of post-flashover compartment fires. The goal is to produce numerical models which replicate full-scale experiments conducted a while ago. I have successfully modeled the fire development and am now looking at the suppression phase.

For my current model I have a 2.4 x 3.6 x 2.4m compartment in which I placed a burner with a specified HRRPUA of 601.4 kW/m2. The fuel that I am using is pine with an auto-ignition temperature of 427 degrees. I have implemented a single nozzle which is set to activate once an average ceiling temperature of 840 degrees has been recorded. I understand that it is possible to suppress burner fires using the extinguishing coefficient However I have simulated various scenarios where the extinguishing coefficient ranges from 16-250. Furthermore, the flow rate of the nozzle is set to 300LPM for an infinite duration, however, the temperature only decreases to approximately 700 degrees before reaching a plateau which is also indicated by the HRR which remains at 3850 kW throughout the simulation which does not correlate with the experiment in which a flow of 115LPM was used for a duration of 45 seconds to fully extinguish the fire.

This makes me think that either I am misinterpreting: