Thunderhead Engineering Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum moved to https://forum.thunderheadeng.com

Author Topic: SFPE Mode V Steering Mode  (Read 3595 times)

J-Evac

• View Profile
SFPE Mode V Steering Mode
« on: September 27, 2016, 02:47:26 pm »

This is probably a frequently discussed issue so apologies if people are tired reading about it. I have done a bit of research and I am aware of the basics of it but I am still unsure about the whole matter. I am relatively new to Pathfinder, I love using it and want to get things right so I appreciate any comments that may have been addressed elsewhere. Links to other discussions are welcome as well as most I have found are quite old and possibly dated by now.

Is there a time to use SFPE and a time to use Steering mode?

How do you decide?

I am trying to find the RSET from 2 buildings at the minute and have almost got my models set up. One is a stand in a football stadium, relatively simple, 4500 occupants, 8 exits all at the top of the stand. I ran it on steering mode and was getting a time of 18 minutes. This is not fully accurate as I introduced 2 mid height exits to see the effect and it slowed things down but this is the model I hit run on the SFPE mode so for the purpose of this discussion I will use it. The SFPE mode result finished at 3600 seconds with 62 people still to evacuate. All I did was change the mode, all other parameters were exactly the same. I had run a small sample simulation with 560 occupants exiting from 2 rooms out a single exit and I got a 140 second difference in the results. I was surprised at this difference but the 42 minute difference in the stadium evac was quite alarming. The actual evacuation after a game was recorded at 9 or 10 minutes.