Thunderhead Engineering Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum moved to https://forum.thunderheadeng.com

Author Topic: fire spread and structural stability  (Read 3113 times)

FJORDI

• View Profile
fire spread and structural stability
« on: March 18, 2010, 11:28:31 am »

Hi
 I have to simulate and study a natural fire in a wide-frame multipurpose Hall with steel roof trusses. i am new to pyrosim and i have several questions:

1-      If i define 2 different solid  objects (obstructions) with different materials, in the same place; ( ex:(intersection (joint) of a concrete column and a steel beam) will there be any problem running FDS?

2-     if i define a hole in a wall, can i  define a another obstruction in the same place "box" where the hole is? will there be any problem?

3-     Which is the best way to model the fire? i have an exhibition area of 7.000 m^2. and a characteristic fire load density of 510 MJ/m^2

Brian

• Thunderhead
    • View Profile
    • Thunderhead Engineering
Re: fire spread and structural stability
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2010, 10:23:20 am »

What exactly are the goals of your modeling?  Are you hoping to model flame spread, or determine heat loads to structural members from an assumed fire?

In response to your questions...

1. The data from the obstruction which appears last will override.  Here is the relevant section of the FDS User Guide: