Thunderhead Engineering Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum moved to https://forum.thunderheadeng.com

Author Topic: Failed simulation with Evac  (Read 8977 times)

MaWo80

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Failed simulation with Evac
« on: April 11, 2011, 02:54:54 am »

Hello,

i designed a building in Pyrosim. The fire simulation works fine. But now i want to make a evac simulation in in the same simulation and i always get this failer log:


Starting FDS: C:\Program Files\PyroSim 2010\fds\fds5_mpi_win64.exe...

Process   3 of   5 is running on Martin-THINK
Process   2 of   5 is running on Martin-THINK
Process   5 of   5 is running on Martin-THINK
Process   4 of   5 is running on Martin-THINK
Process   0 of   5 is running on Martin-THINK
Process   1 of   5 is running on Martin-THINK
Mesh   1 is assigned to Process   0
Mesh   2 is assigned to Process   1
Mesh   3 is assigned to Process   2
Mesh   4 is assigned to Process   3
Mesh   5 is assigned to Process   4
 WARNING: PERS globals
 no DEFAULT_PROPERTIES given
 WARNING: PERS globals
 no DEFAULT_PROPERTIES given
 WARNING: PERS globals
 no DEFAULT_PROPERTIES given
 WARNING: PERS globals
 no DEFAULT_PROPERTIES given
 WARNING: PERS globals
 no DEFAULT_PROPERTIES given
 WARNING: PERS globals
 no DEFAULT_PROPERTIES given

 Fire Dynamics Simulator

 Compilation Date : Fri, 29 Oct 2010

 Version: 5.5.3; MPI Enabled; OpenMP Disabled
 SVN Revision No. : 7031

 Job TITLE        :
 Job ID string    : Verwaltungsgebäude_aktuell

forrtl: severe (157): Program Exception - access violation

Image              PC                Routine            Line        Source            
fds5_mpi_win64.ex  00000001402B5646  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
fds5_mpi_win64.ex  000000014032B07E  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
fds5_mpi_win64.ex  00000001404A5885  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
fds5_mpi_win64.ex  000000014059338C  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
fds5_mpi_win64.ex  000000014056C055  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
kernel32.dll       0000000076C2652D  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
ntdll.dll          0000000076EAC521  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown

job aborted:
rank: node: exit code[: error message]
0: Martin-THINK: 123
1: Martin-THINK: 123
2: Martin-THINK: 123
3: Martin-THINK: 123
4: Martin-THINK: 157: process 4 exited without calling finalize
5: Martin-THINK: 123



Starting Smokeview: C:\Program Files\PyroSim 2010\fds\smokeview.exe...


Does somebody know this falure or what i can do ?

« Last Edit: April 11, 2011, 05:07:36 am by MaWo80 »
Logged

Charlie Thornton

  • Thunderhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 851
    • View Profile
Re: Failed simulation with Evac
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2011, 08:34:09 am »

I'm not sure. It's possible that something in FDS+EVAC has changed and PyroSim hasn't kept up. What version of FDS are you using? (e.g. "whatever version came with PyroSim 2010.2", or "I installed a custom version of FDS, it's 5.5.3")

That warning about DEFAULT_PROPERTIES also seems worth checking out. When you look in the Record View, do your PERS namelists have the DEFAULT_PROPERTIES value set?
Logged

MaWo80

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Failed simulation with Evac
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2011, 09:52:49 am »

Hello ,


I use Pyrosim 2010.2.0111.  FDS is in Version 5.5.3.  I can´t find a newer version to install. on the nist website there is a version 5.5.3a but this version don´t run with pyrosim.

2nd) person "default_PROPERTIES='Male'/" thats it.

I still don´t know how i can solve this thing. Are there too muich meshes ? I Have a quadcore cpu intel i5!
Logged

Charlie Thornton

  • Thunderhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 851
    • View Profile
Re: Failed simulation with Evac
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2011, 08:53:23 am »

When trying to reproduce the problem you mentioned, I found something similar but not exactly the same. I started with the single-mesh "roomfire" example problem and split it into two fire meshes and two evac meshes (and configured it for evac with a couple occupants). This worked fine when run in the normal (serial) way, it also worked fine in parallel with OpenMP, but when I tried to run in parallel with MPI I got this:

Quote
Starting FDS: C:\Program Files\PyroSim 2010\fds\fds5_mpi_win64.exe...

Process   3 of   3 is running on aurora.thunderheadeng.lan
Process   1 of   3 is running on aurora.thunderheadeng.lan
Process   0 of   3 is running on aurora.thunderheadeng.lan
Process   2 of   3 is running on aurora.thunderheadeng.lan
Mesh   1 is assigned to Process   0
Mesh   2 is assigned to Process   1
Mesh   3 is assigned to Process   2
Mesh   4 is assigned to Process   3

 Fire Dynamics Simulator

 Compilation Date : Fri, 29 Oct 2010

 Version: 5.5.3; MPI Enabled; OpenMP Disabled
 SVN Revision No. : 7031

 Job TITLE        : Room fire
 Job ID string    : roomfire


ERROR: EVACUATE_HUMANS, No mesh found      3

ERROR: EVACUATE_HUMANS, No mesh found      3

job aborted:
rank: node: exit code[: error message]
0: aurora.thunderheadeng.lan: 123
1: aurora.thunderheadeng.lan: 123
2: aurora.thunderheadeng.lan: 0: process 2 exited without calling finalize
3: aurora.thunderheadeng.lan: 123

I think there might be a problem with the way FDS+EVAC looks up the evacuation mesh data when all of the meshes have been assigned to different processes by MPI. However, that wasn't what you were seeing. I wasn't able to reproduce the PERS warning or your particular crash. Can you post your PSM or FDS input file?
Logged

JWest

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Failed simulation with Evac
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2011, 02:25:12 pm »

I think the problem with this scenario is that EVAC, as far as I know, doesnt support MPI yet?

-JWest

Updated: Copied from EVAC manual:

"The present version of FDS+Evac does not fully support parallel CPU calculations for
the evacuation part. If a FDS+Evac calculation needs too much computer memory, then
the user must increase the amount of available memory. This may require switching
from a 32 bit to a 64 bit operating system, because the evacuation meshes can not be
distributed over many different processors/computers unlike the FDS fire meshes using
the MPI version of the FDS executable."
« Last Edit: June 29, 2011, 05:00:59 am by JWest »
Logged

Ratas

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Failed simulation with Evac
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2011, 07:42:55 am »

2nd) person "default_PROPERTIES='Male'/" thats it.

I also get the error message: "PERS globals no DEFAULT_PROPERTIES given".
The simulations still seem to run allright.
Logged

Ratas

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Failed simulation with Evac
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2011, 05:48:23 am »

I think the problem with this scenario is that EVAC, as far as I know, doesnt support MPI yet?

So Pyrosim seems to assign all the meshes to different processes, resulting in this error?
If I understand correctly you should be able to run the fire meshes parallel, while EVAC is running on a single process simultaneously.


Logged

Charlie Thornton

  • Thunderhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 851
    • View Profile
Re: Failed simulation with Evac
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2011, 07:38:34 am »

Fair enough. Thanks. I've added a note to our issue tracker.
Logged