Thunderhead Engineering Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum moved to https://forum.thunderheadeng.com

Author Topic: some problems with Pyrosim  (Read 11325 times)

ncepuzxt

• View Profile
some problems with Pyrosim
« on: January 09, 2011, 08:13:20 pm »

HI,
   I am new with the program, and would be glad to discuss with you. Here I have a few questions with the soft, and I will be very appreciated with your discussions or your instructions.
   a) I am puzzled about the ''Open Mesh Boundaries''. Does it mean the external walls of the buildings?
   b) I just would like to know whether all of the commands in FDS applied in Pyrosim. For example, the PRES Namelist Group in improving the Pressure Solver, i.e. how I can set the parameters MAX_PRESSURE_ITERATIONS and VELOCITY_TOLERANCE in Pysosim? Obviously, there are many other commands in FDS which I canNOT find in Pyrosim.
   c) How can deal with the floors in multiple-floor buildings? The examples in Pyrosim are one-floor building.
   Thanks a lot.

Best Regards

Charlie Thornton

• Thunderhead
    • View Profile
Re: some problems with Pyrosim
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2011, 04:45:13 pm »

A: When you right-click a MESH, then click Open Mesh Boundaries, PyroSim will add 6 OPEN vents at the boundaries of that mesh. These vents appear in the tree, but are "hidden" (i.e. they don''''t show up in Smokeview).

B: No. We have implemented support for the subset of FDS we believe to be most useful for PyroSim users. If there are specific features that you feel should be included in PyroSim, let us know. Alternately, you can use the Additional Records section to add arbitrary entries to the FDS input file. This approach works particularly well for "free floating" records that set global variables in FDS, but don''''t tie in to other input file entries (e.g. the PRES namelist).